Fairfax Station is best known for its place in the Civil War conflict where wounded soldiers were brought after the 2nd Battle of Manassas and the Battle of Ox Hill. However, it also has a rich history as a railroad town where families were raised and commerce took place.
On August 29, 2012, at the unveiling of a Fairfax County, VA Historical Marker, Fairfax Station Railroad Museum Board members celebrated and honored those who had made the town of Fairfax Station their home. Ron Beavers did the research and wrote the script that was approved by the Fairfax County History Commission. This history commission and the Lindner Foundation paid for the sign. The Friends of the Fairfax Station donated land to have it placed on their property.
At the unveiling ceremony led by President Joan Rogers, life-long residents of Fairfax Station who lived there while the Station was an active and central point in daily life offered their memories – Jim Wyckoff, his sister, Nancy Wyckoff, Jane Peterson, whose father was the last station master, and Lee Hubbard.
The marker is just one of eight authorized by the County during the year in its effort to preserve local history.
The marker reads:
Fairfax Station, established on the Orange and Alexandria Railroad in 1851, was originally known as Lee’s Station until 1852. It served the town of Providence, location of the Fairfax County Court House. A small community, mostly Irish, grew near the station with a post office in 1852 and Saint Mary of Sorrows Catholic Church in 1860. Between 1897 and 1921 the area was called Swetnam, reverting back to Fairfax Station in 1921. In 1907 this area was known as a “progressive and enterprising village” with two churches, two stores, a school and a blacksmith’s shop. The principal occupations were farming, dairying and lumbering.