Coming Up

Tuesday, April 21
Historic Garden Week

Sunday, April 26
Special Exhibit: "Images of Rails"

Sunday, May 2~3
HO Model Train Display (Potomac Module Crew)

Sunday, May 10
Hands On Day

Sunday, May 17
N-Trak Model Train Display

Sunday, May 24~25
Clifton Art Guild

Sunday, May 31
Book Signing

Wednesday, June 3
Civil War Forum

Sunday, June 7
Summer Activities Day

Sunday, June 14
T-Trak Model Train Display

See Event Calendar for details

 

 

 

 

 

The Friends of the Fairfax Station, Inc.

The purpose of the Friends of the Fairfax Station, Inc., a non-profit 501-c-3, all volunteer organization, is to maintain and operate the rebuilt Fairfax Station railroad depot as a museum.

Fairfax Station is rich in railroad, Civil War and local history. The Friends of Fairfax Station foster an appreciation for this through its programs, displays and special exhibits. All ages are welcome!

One of the first fundraisers in the 1970's conducted by the Clifton Community Woman's Club. Shows the re-enactors at the Old DepotScheduled for demolition by Southern Railway in 1973, a group of local citizens headed by Lena Wyckoff and the Clifton Community Woman’s Club began efforts to save the old depot.

Southern Railway agreed to donate the building for continued use as a museum. The Fried and Moore families donated land just up the hill from the original site.

The new Friends of the Fairfax Station, Inc. received financial and volunteer assistance from the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors and local groups to reconstruct the station. The museum was built by local high school students (Fairfax County Vocation Educational Foundation). It was dedicated in 1987. The museum opened the following year.

Come and Enjoy History with Us